Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

Deep Funk

XHeavy funk from the contemporary scene -- from labels like Daptone, Truth & Soul, Now Again, Schema, Freestyle, and Legere!



Kamasi Washington Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Exact matches: 2
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Throttle Elevator Music with Kamasi WashingtonThrottle Elevator Music IV ... LP
Wide Hive, 2016. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
The best album so far from Throttle Elevator music – thanks to some fantastic saxophone from Kamasai Washington! The group was always pretty good before – but this time around, they really rise above their past – and also have Washington handling all the arrangements on the record, which gives them a spiritual sound we never would have expected! Core group members include Gregory Howe and Matt Montgomery on guitars and piano, Mike Hughes on drums, and Erik Jekabson on flugelhorn and trumpet – but the presence of Washington is what really seals the deal, on tracks that include "Gibraltar Road", "We Can Work With That", "Sweet Spot", "No One To Vote For", "Boeske Trail", and "Throwing The Switch". (Jazz, Deep Funk) LP, Vinyl record album

Exact matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Throttle Elevator Music feat Kamasi WashingtonRetrorespective ... CD
Wide Hive, 2016. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Not a retrospective of the music of Throttle Elevator Music – as you might mistake from the title – but instead a fresh new album that features the group working tremendously with the mighty Kamasai Washington! Washington isn't just a guest, but a key member of the group – and he really helps to push forward that deepening sound they've developed since their first release – a huge evolution that only gets better when Kamasai's on board. Washington plays tenor on the record, and contributes songs and arrangements – and some of the vibe of the set is maybe a small combo take on territory he explored on The Epic album – proud and righteous, with a very uplifting spirit. Other group members include Erik Jekabson on flugelhorn and trumpet, Ava Mendoza on guitar, Matt Mongtomery on bass and piano, and Thomas McCree on drums – and producer Gregory Howe also contributes songs and arrangements. Titles include "Flux & Solder", "Liminality", "Playing The Alleyway", "February Drift", "Subtract Limited", and "Rapid Rotation". (Jazz, Deep Funk) CD
Possible matches: 2
Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Jason McGuinessEmpyrean Tones ... LP
Common Good, 2019. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Jason McGuiness handles the keyboards, but he's also got some great help on the session too – a strong lineup of guests that includes Kamasi Washington on tenor, Phil Ranelin on trombone, and Keyon Harrold on trumpet! Drums are by Te'Amir Sweeney, who's got this crackling touch that brings a tight acoustic core next to the freer flows that McGuiness brings on keyboards – balancing the album out nicely, and grounding some of the cosmic currents of the leader – in ways that nicely hold a space between an album of electric funk and spiritual jazz! Titles include "Titals", "Cosmos", "Discipline", "Empyrean Tones", and "Black Messiah Project". LP, Vinyl record album

Possible matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Ghost NoteSwagism ... CD
RSVP/Ropeadope, 2018. New Copy 2CD ... Out Of Stock
Great sounds from Ghost Note – a group that's co-led by a drummer and a keyboardist who also plays more drums – which should give you an idea of the funky nature of the album! There's a fuller group on hand for most of the record – guitar, tenor, alto, flute, and more keyboards – but most numbers seem to start from the rhythms first, then layer on the instrumental elements – avoiding vocals for the most part, although there's some snippets of found spoken bits used throughout the set – mostly as commentary! Kamasi Washington guests on the tune "No More Silence", Karl Denson guests on "Weedie B Good", and other titles include "Swagism", "Dry Rub", "Bawllz", "What's Next", "Funk You Muthafunka", "The Lone Angel", "Trifelife", and "Milkshake". (Jazz, Deep Funk) CD

⇑ Top