Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

Deep Funk

XHeavy funk from the contemporary scene -- from labels like Daptone, Truth & Soul, Now Again, Schema, Freestyle, and Legere!



Cree Edit search

Sort by
Partial matches: 2
Partial matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Madlib & OthersMadlib's Medicine Show Numbers 12 & 13 – Filthy A** Remixes (limited edition LP) ... LP
Madlib Invazion, 2011. Near Mint- ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
Bonus sides in Madlib's epic Medicine Show Series – a vinyl pressing made specifically for 'Lib's Medicine Show tour – with choice cuts from the previously CD only #12 Raw Medicine – Madlib Remixes on one side, plus material from the heretofore unreleased #13 on the other side! The Raw Medicine side is a sampler of the hazy, funky, rawly brilliant batch of hip hop remixes from the mid 00s onward by Madlib. Side two is a 10 track sampler of what's to be found on #13 – The Black Tape – the bonus release in a series that was intended to be capped off at 12! (Hip Hop, Deep Funk) LP, Vinyl record album
(Limited silk-screened cover by Hit + Run.)

Partial matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Throttle Elevator Music feat Kamasi WashingtonRetrorespective ... CD
Wide Hive, 2016. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Not a retrospective of the music of Throttle Elevator Music – as you might mistake from the title – but instead a fresh new album that features the group working tremendously with the mighty Kamasai Washington! Washington isn't just a guest, but a key member of the group – and he really helps to push forward that deepening sound they've developed since their first release – a huge evolution that only gets better when Kamasai's on board. Washington plays tenor on the record, and contributes songs and arrangements – and some of the vibe of the set is maybe a small combo take on territory he explored on The Epic album – proud and righteous, with a very uplifting spirit. Other group members include Erik Jekabson on flugelhorn and trumpet, Ava Mendoza on guitar, Matt Mongtomery on bass and piano, and Thomas McCree on drums – and producer Gregory Howe also contributes songs and arrangements. Titles include "Flux & Solder", "Liminality", "Playing The Alleyway", "February Drift", "Subtract Limited", and "Rapid Rotation". (Jazz, Deep Funk) CD

⇑ Top