New Grooves — All

XContemporary cuts in a variety of styles -- broken beat, downtempo, house, electronica, club jazz, electro, nu jazz, and more!



I Roy Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Exact matches: 1
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Roy AyersNaste (new breed funk mix, new breed funk dub, live vibe mix, album) ... 12-inch
Groovetown/RCA, 1995. Near Mint- ... $2.99
Produced by Roy Ayers and DJ Smash. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Promo in a stickered sleeve.)
Possible matches: 2
Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousFreestyle – Single Minded Compiled By Adrian Gibson ... CD
Freestyle (UK), 2008. Used 2 CDs ... $6.99
A double-length collection of singles from the UK's mighty Freestyle label – kind of an offshoot of the Jazz Cafe scene in London, and easily one of the hippest imprints of the past few years! Freestyle's issued plenty of great full length albums, but they've put out way more singles – both 12" and funky 45s, a good number of which are compiled here on the set! The Freestyle singles are almost even better than the label's albums – as they represent the real cutting edge of the funky underground, often the first few tracks heard from artists who are well on their way to hitting big at a much higher level. The work here is a mix of funky tracks, beat-heavy numbers, and some occasional soul and Latin bits – all served up with a lively sort of sound that steps way back to the old school, but keeps a 21st Century sort of sparkle. 22 tracks in all – including "Impulse" by Rhibosome, "That's Your Problem Baby" by Jaguar, "Get Down To The Floor" by James Taylor Quartet with Roy Ayers, "Elephants" by Karl Denson's Tiny Universe, "When Will I Ever Learn 2" by Lewis Taylor, "Aye Carumba" by Nick The Record, "Kalakuta Show" by Afrodizz, "Rapper's Delight" by Bentzon Brotherhood, "Get It On" by Sleeve, "It's Alright Now" by DJ Graham B, "Taking Your Seat" by Valique, "Live In The Mix" by Flow Dynamics, "AB Slash" by AB NRML, "So Fine" by Sleeve & Lowman, "Tom Blake (DJ Spinna mix)" by Ron Blake, and "Movin On (Secure Unit mix)" by Reggie Watts. CD

Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Simpson UniquityRunning Away (funky vibes, Diplomats Of Soul dub) ... 7-inch
Expansion (UK), 2016. New Copy ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
A great remake of one of the biggest cuts ever from the legendary Roy Ayers – done here with a version that's got even more vibes than the original! In fact, the core groove is very much like the Ayers recording, but the cut soon moves into loads of jazzy vibes – and also has a great bass breakdown in the middle! The flipside takes out the initial burst vibes, but keeps all the grooves intact – and brings in some sweet jazzy keyboard work from Diplomats Of Soul, then brings back in the vibes! (Funky 45's, New Grooves) 7-inch, Vinyl record

⇑ Top