Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

All Categories



Chicago Underground Quartet Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Exact matches: 1
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Chicago Underground QuartetGood Days ... CD
Astral Spirits, 2020. New Copy ... $8.99
A fantastic step in the continuing evolution of the "Chicago Underground" project of trumpeter Rob Mazurek and drummer Chad Taylor – soaring out here in a set that's full of spiritual energy and a level of imagination that even surpasses their classic recordings from years ago! Mazurek blows piccolo trumpet, but also adds in some electronics – and Taylor is mindblowing on drums, playing with a style that's open, but always gently swinging – and matched with some synth bass from Josh Johnson, who also plays organ and piano on the set. The mighty guitarist Jeff Parker is the last member of the group – and like Mazurek, he's really come a long way in the past decade, and the quartet work together here at a level that has us falling in love with the Chicago Underground all over again. Moody at times, but never too loose – and titles include "Orgasm", "Good Days", "Batida", "All The Bells", "Unique Spiral", "Lome", "Westview", and "Strange Wing". CD
Possible matches: 1
Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Jeb Bishop/Dave Rempis/Nate McBride/Tim DaisyEngines ... CD
Okka Disk, 2007. New Copy ... $9.99
A sharp-edged Chicago quartet – made up of key players of the underground scene of the past decade or so – including Jeb Bishop on trombone, Dave Rempis on saxes, Nate McBride on bass, and Tim Daisy on drums! The sound here is forceful, but nicely restrained – not nearly as free as some of the other work by the players, and with a strongly compositional sensibility that often makes the most of dark notes and moody rhythms. Titles are all originals by members of the group, and tracks include "Riser", "Jet Lag", "Rewind", "Mish Mumkin", "Backend Cover", and "Four Broken Plates". CD

⇑ Top