Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

All Categories



Abduction Edit search

Sort by
Close matches: 1
Close matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Sun City GirlsDawn Of The Devi ... LP
Majora/Abduction, 1991. New Copy (reissue)... $19.99
Pretty fierce work from Sun City Girls – a record that continues their previous experiments of blending global sources and noisy elements – but in a way that leans a heck of a lot more on the latter side of the equation! The guitars are especially strong here – almost as if the group were soaking up all the best energy of the 80s electric underground experiments, then finding a way to really make them their own – which even includes a few jamming, more harder-rocking moments that we might not have expected before! Titles include "The Court Magicians Of Agartha", "Cad Walleder", "A Target Silhouette Punished Blameless", and "The Kissy Sting". LP, Vinyl record album
(Limited edition!)
Possible matches: 2
Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousPlanisphere (picture disc) ... LP
Numero, Mid 90s. New Copy ... $24.99
One of the more obscure releases in the Numero Group catalog – a set that eschews their usual sense of history and explanation, and goes instead for a package that's got more design than information! The record is beautiful – a picture disc that replicates a star finder – and which contains music that, we think, is from the mid 90s southern Cali underground – all of it an odd mix of folksy modes and electronics – with a sound that definitely echoes the heavens, but also points back to earth. One way of imagining these sounds is to think of the home recordings that might have been made by a bunch of guys who'd experienced alien abduction – then rushed home to their guitar and keyboards – to craft tunes that include "Chased By The Shadows" by Alan Purvey, "The Surface Of The Water" by Circus Underwater, "Coming Home Again" by Cracky, "The Birds" by Rick Cuevas, "Dream Music" by Dereck Higgins, and "Harmonic Love" by Cobalt. LP, Vinyl record album

Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ John Carpenter & Alan HowarthBig Trouble In Little China (with bonus tracks) ... CD
Enigma/La La Land, 1986. Used ... Out Of Stock
The movie's something of a comedy, but it gets the same cool soundtrack treatment as some of John Carpenter's creepier films of the 80s – completely with lots of spare keyboard lines and electronics, served up with great collaborative help from Allan Howarth! In fact, the whole thing's got such a subtle, straight approach to the music that you'll really be surprised if you're just trying to judge a record by its cover. This great 2CD edition features 24 tracks in all – with titles that include "They Alley", "The Storms", "Abduction At Airport", "Pork Chop Express", "Escape From Wing Kong", "Here Come The Storms", "Into The Spirit Path", and "Call The Police". CD
(Out of print 2009 pressing with the same great bonus tracks as the 30th Anniversary Edition – limited to 3000 copies!)
Partial matches: 2
Partial matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Thievery Corporation & OthersAbductions & Reconstructions ... CD
Eighteenth Street Lounge, 1999. Used ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
A collection of remixes all handled by Thievery Corp – featuring a wide range of tunes, all filtered through the duo's consummate hipster sensibilities! Features remixes of "KC Doppler" by Slide 5, "Porno 3003" by Pizzicato 5, "Savoir Faire" by Ursula 1000, "Transmission Central" by Rockers Hi Fi, "Hijack" by Thunderball, "I Will Follow You" by Baba Maal, "Tickertake Of the Unconscious" by Stereolab, and "Ave Maria" by Edson Cordeiro. CD
(Out of print.)

Partial matches5
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
David Boykin OutetEvidence Of Life On Other Planets Vol 2 ... CD
Box Media/Sonic Healing Ministries, 1999. New Copy ... $6.99
A seminal album from the great reedman David Boykin – a set recorded right at the end of the 90s, with an excellent group full of members who'd all go on to do wonderful things in years to come – Nicole Mitchell on flute, Chad Taylor on drums, and Josh Abrams on bass – plus a bit of vocals from Glenda Zarah Baker as well! The tracks are a great mixture of long and short, quiet and powerful – really marking Boykin as one of the key talents to inherit the mantle of the AACM legacy, and find a way for it to move forward strongly, and proudly, well into the 21st Century. Titles include "Hypnotic", "Portal 7", "Blue Corn Bop", "Affections Of Alienation", "Abductions & Experimentations", and "Astro Lilly". CD

⇑ Top