All Categories — All


Shawn Phillips Edit search

Sort by
Exact matches: 3
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Shawn PhillipsCollaboration ... LP
A&M, 1971. Very Good Gatefold ... $3.99
LP, Vinyl record album

Exact matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Shawn PhillipsSpaced ... LP
A&M, 1977. Very Good+ ... $9.99
Wonderful! Shawn Phillips started his career as a shaggy folk rocker with a bit of a jazzy twinge – but this album collects odd bits and pieces that were left off of earlier albums, and works perfectly as a record that shows a whole new side of his genius! The album shows Phillips as a master of the funky jazz groove – and although he's still singing on some of the songs, he also lets loose with a number of instrumental cuts, laid out in a tight well-produced mode that puts them up there with some of the best work coming out on labels like Fantasy or Blue Note during the mid 70s. The centerpiece of these is the massive long cut "We Came To Say Goodbye", which builds and builds over the course of 15 minutes, with cool keyboards, great guitar, and the kind of tightly compressed grooves you'd expect to find on a Headhunters album (no surprise, since Headhunters Mike Clark, Bill Summers, and Paul Jackson are on the cut!) Other instrumental tracks include "Prelude To A Leaving" and "Italian Phases" – and strong vocal numbers include "Parisian Plight 1" and "Your Eyes". LP, Vinyl record album
(Includes the printed inner sleeve. Cover has a cut corner.)

Exact matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Shawn PhillipsSecond Contribution ... LP
A&M, 1971. Used Gatefold ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
A great one from Shawn Phillips – a set that has more of the jazzy tones of his later work coming to the forefront – in a sound that's fuller, richer than before – with larger orchestrations by Paul Buckmaster and Ian Green, and a growing sense of groove that's made Shawn one of the best examples of the early 70s folk funk generation! There's a tightly vamping energy to most of the best numbers that's really great – and a slightly jazzy sensibility too, even when things still sound mostly folksy overall. Titles include "Song For Mr C", "Sleepwalker", "Keep On", "Song For Sagittarians", "Steel Eyes", "Schmaltz Waltz", and "F Sharp Splendor". LP, Vinyl record album
Possible matches: 1
Possible matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Tucker ZimmermanTen Songs (with bonus tracks) ... CD
Regal Zonophone/RPM (UK), 1969. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
An excellent album from US singer/songwriter Tucker Zimmerman – the product of a number of in-depth recording sessions in 1969 London with Tony Visconti – who plays bass and guitar on most of the record too! Zimmerman might have been more of a folkie in someone else's hands, but Visconti brings some great electric elements to his acoustic core – a bit like he does with David Bowie on the mellower songs for Hunky Dory – by adding in key added touches that flesh out the sound in a modern London mode – including contributions from Aynsley Dunbar on drums, Shawn Phillips on guitar and sitar, and Rick Wakeman on organ and piano! Tucker's always at the core, though – a great songwriter with this biting style on his best vocals – and titles include "October Mornings", "A Face That Hasn't Sold Out", "The Roadrunner", "Children Of Fear", "The Wind Returns Into The Night", and "Running Running From Moment To Moment". CD features a number of bonus tracks, some unreleased – including "The Red Wind", "Moodog", "Les Visions De Rimbaud", "Non C'E Niente Mai", and "En Memoire De Jean Genet". CD

⇑ Top