All Categories — CDs


Chairmen Of The BoardEdit search


Sort by
Exact matches: 1
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Chairmen Of The BoardChairmen Of The Board – Complete Invictus Recordings 1969 to 1978 (9CD set) ... CD
Invictus/Edsel (UK), 1970s. New Copy 9CD ... $30.99
A wonderful collection of work – one that not only features all the albums by this legendary soul group, but also solo projects by each member, and a host of rare bonus tracks too! The individual albums come in small LP-styled sleeves – and include Give Me Just A Little More Time, In Session, Bittersweet, and Skin I'm In by Chairmen Of The Board – plus Generally Speaking by General Johnson, Hypnotic Music by Harrison Kennedy, and Aries by Danny Woods! Plus, the package features two full CDs of bonus material – with non-album singles, rarities, unusual mixes, alternates, and two completely new Tom Moulton remixes for the set! 97 tracks in all – and new liner notes too. CD
Possible matches: 3
Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousFree Soul Motor City – Hot Wax & Invictus Treasure ... CD
Hot Wax/Ultra Vybe (Japan), Early 70s. New Copy ... $16.99
Some of the most upbeat soul of the 70s – a great run of tracks from the Hot Wax and Invictus label – home to the post-Motown efforts of the team of Holland Dozier Holland! The trio created a whole new sort of Detroit groove at the time – a style that was often at its best when grooving – in styles that would be copped by some of the disco generation a few years later, but which have a lot more bite in these earlier recordings – the kind of joyous, spontaneous fire that we love from some of the other titles in the Free Soul series! As with other Free Soul collections, there's a huge amount of music here – 26 tracks clocking in at over 80 minutes – with tracks that include "You Made Me Over" by Melvin Davis, "Touch Me Jesus" by The Glass House, "All We Need Is Understanding" by Chairmen Of The Board, "I Shall Not Be Moved" by Freda Payne, "Why Can't We Be Lovers" by Lamont Dozier, "Mama's Little Baby" by Brotherly Love, "Ain't It Good Feelin Good" by Eloise Laws, and "Frightened Girl" by Silent Majority. CD

Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ General JohnsonBest Of The Arista Years (General Johnson plus singles) ... CD
Arista/Edsel (UK), Late 70s. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
General Johnson's self-titled set for Arista – plus singles! The self-titled set comes a few years after the breakup of Chairmen Of The Board, and General shows the world that he can keep on keeping on as a 70s soul singer! The record has some some fantastic gems that easily stand with Johnson's best work – like the smooth soul stepper "Don't Walk Away", the hard dancing "Keep Keepin On", and a remake of "Patches" that's even more complicated than the original version by Chairmen Of The Board. This version from Edsel UK is billed as Best Of The Arista Years and includes 4 singles. Tracks include "Temperature Risin'", "Lies", "All In The Family", "Only Love Can Mend A Broken Heart", "Let's Fool Around (12" Version)", "Ready Willing And Able" and "Can't Nobody Love Me Like You Do (12" Disco Version)". 12 tracks in all. CD

Possible matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ VariousGood Times Australia – Presented By Norman Jay ... CD
Central Station (Australia), 1970s/2010. New Copy 2CD ... Out Of Stock
Norman Jay takes his Good Times groove from the London scene to the Australian one – but as with other great volumes in this series, the vibe here is mostly American – overflowing with a wicked batch of rare soul goodies that are mostly from the 70s, plus a few choice cuts from more recent years! Norman's been spinning rare funk and soul for over 25 years – and through all that time, he's always been one of the best cats to check out – as magical with a soulful cut as Gilles Peterson is with a jazzy one – blessed with a wonderful ear for putting things together, and mixing together rare gems and familiar cuts that sound even better in the Good Times context. This 2CD set is overflowing with goodness – and titles incolude "Never Be The Same" by Michelle William, "U Know What's Up" by Donell Jones, "Men Are Getting Scarce" by Chairmen Of The Board, "Kooks" by David Bowie, "Send In The Clowns" by Lorez Alexandria, "New Day" by Peven Everett, "Everything Is Great" by Inner Circle, "I" by Donaeo, "Conqueror" by Danny Clark & Jah Benham, "Living From The Mind" by Brick, "Happy To Be With You" by Jean Carn, "Take Me Now" by Tammy Payne, "Theme From Belle Et Fou" by Jazzanova, "More Of Myself" by Light Of The World, "Backstabbers" by Tina Turner, and "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang" by High Contrast. CD

⇑ Top