All Categories — All Formats


Arthur BakerEdit search


Sort by
Possible matches: 13
Possible matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Man ParrishHip Hop, Be Bop (Don't Stop) (5:36, 4:00, 3:11) ... 12-inch
Rams Horn, 1982. Good ... $5.99
A classic electro groove – and one of the tracks that's a contender for the origin of the word "hip hop"! A very nice groove with an early Arthur Baker feel, and the kind of cut that we slept on during the 80s, but which sounds totally great today! 3 different edits. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(In a Rams Horn sleeve, with moderate wear, staining, a sticker remnant and some small tears.)

Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
New EditionCandy Girl ... LP
Streetwise/Get On Down, 1983. New Copy (reissue)... $16.99 18.98
A poppy record, but a great one too – and a surprisingly enduring pleasure from the Streetwise scene of the 80s! This is the album that started it all – the wave of younger groups that would come into play in 80s soul strongly by the latter half of the decade – New Edition with its now-classic lineup that includes a young Ralph Tresvant, Bobby Brown, and the Bell, Biv, Devoe trio! The album's really the brainchild of producer Maurice Starr, who's also working here with a fair bit of help from Michael Jonzun and a bit of guidance from Arthur Baker – all of whom serve up tunes that are sweet and catchy, and which are almost an 80s update of the sound of the Jackson 5 or Five Stairsteps from a decade before – given a hipper, more streetsoul undercurrent. Titles include "She Gives Me A Bang", "Pass The Beat", "Ooh Baby", "Popcorn Love", "Candy Girl", "Should Never Have Told Me", and "Gimme Your Love". LP, Vinyl record album

Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Planet PatrolI Didn't Know I Loved You (voc, inst)/Play At Your Own Risk (acapella) ... 12-inch
Tommy Boy, 1984. Very Good+ ... $3.99
A Gary Glitter tune's given the Arthur Baker electro treatment for your breaking pleasure, plus the acapella to "Play At Your Own Risk". 12-inch, Vinyl record
(In a Tommy Boy sleeve.)

Possible matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
TJMTJM (with bonus tracks) ... CD
Casablanca/Big Break (UK), 1979. New Copy ... $9.99
A later bit of Philly disco – recorded at Sigma Sound studios with really soaring production from Tom Moulton – and some surprising help on a number of tracks from a young Arthur Baker! The style here has that Instant Funk sort of groove – a bit more bass at the bottom than earlier Philly disco, and a real penchant for instrumental breakdowns in the Salsoul mode – stepping out nicely on a set of longer tracks that really bubble over with energy! Titles include "Put Yourself In My Place", "Small Circle Of Friends", "I Don't Need No Music", and "Am I Dreaming". This Big Break UK remastered edition has 3 bonus tracks: "Storm Warning", "Put Yourself In My Place (Single Version)" and "Am I Dreaming (Single Version)". CD

Possible matches5
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ NairobiFunky Soul Makossa (rap, voc)/Free Beats/Makossa Jam ... 12-inch
Streetwise, 1982. Used ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
A great Arthur Baker and John Robie electro remake of Manu Dibango's funky global classic, with The Awesome Foursome! 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Label has some marker.)

Possible matches6
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ New EditionCandy Girl (voc, sing a long) ... 12-inch
Streetwise, 1982. Used ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
An electro pop classic – and one of the greatest tunes by New Edition! The track's got some nice street beats from Arthur Baker, and catchy lead vocals that sound a lot like the Jackson 5 at their best! 12-inch, Vinyl record
(In a Streetwise sleeve. Labels have some marker.)

Possible matches7
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Grandmixer D StCrazy Cuts (long version, long dub) ... 12-inch
Island, 1983. Used (pic cover)... Out Of Stock
Herbie Hancock's DJ, who'd go on to change the lives of millions of kids after his historic performance on Saturday Night Live. Though this one's a Laswell Material production, you can here a good bit of the sort of Arthur Baker breakers sort of track creeping in. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Cover has some light wear and a bit of sticker residue.)

Possible matches8
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ King CurtisMusic For Dancing – The Twist ... CD
RCA/Shout (UK), 1961. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Raw instrumental dance soul from sax great King Curtis – recorded for RCA in 1961 – really great, energetic covers of big band numbers and more in a hard grooving R&B mode! Don Covay and others sing on the "Twist" tunes – "Peppermint Twist", "The Arthur Murray Twist" and a couple more – but the instrumentals are pretty incredible, too. Mickey Baker and Billy Butler are on guitar, and the whole group of musicans really cook! Other tracks include "Jersey Bounce", "Honeysuckle Rose", "Stompin' At The Savoy", "The Fly" and more. CD

Possible matches9
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Planet PatrolPlay At Your Own Risk (voc)/Rock At Your Own Risk (inst) ... 12-inch
Tommy Boy, 1984. Used ... Out Of Stock
The sound of the future! An early Arthur Baker electro classic for you to pop and lock to your heart's content to. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Label has a bit of pen.)

Possible matches10
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Al GreenKeep On Pushing Love/Your Heart's In Good Hands ... 7-inch
Outta Sight (UK), 1996. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Later work from Al Green – produced by Arthur Baker, who sets Al up in some surprisingly nice contemporary grooves! "Keep On Pushing" has a nice stepping groove from the start – but Al's vocals still have all that classic style overall – that sublime, spiritual flow that just gets better and better as the tune rolls on! "Your Heart" is great too – a joyous midtempo groover that stands strongly with Greens' classics from the 70s! 7-inch, Vinyl record

Possible matches11
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Planet PatrolCheap Thrills (voc, inst) ... 12-inch
Tommy Boy, 1983. Used ... Out Of Stock
Nice electro beats from Arthur Baker and John Robie's glory days. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Label has the remnants of a sticker.)

Possible matches12
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Planet PatrolDanger Zone (voc, inst, acappella) ... 12-inch
Tommy Boy, 1984. Used ... Out Of Stock
Ok, maybe it's not really hip hop, but electro beats from Arthur Baker and John Robie's glory day. The original Danger Zone was from the "Planet Patrol" LP. 12-inch, Vinyl record
(Label has some pen.)

Possible matches13
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Diana RossSwept Away (2CD edition – with bonus tracks) ... CD
RCA/FTG, 1984. New Copy 2CD ... Out Of Stock
A surprising hit for Diana Ross – a record that really helped the singer shine brightly in the 80s, but with a vibe that's quite different than her years at Motown! The album's got plenty of star power on board – production work from Arthur Baker, Richard Perry, Daryl Hall, Lionel Richie, and Bernard Edwards – and a musical lineup that features half those artistes, plus work from Jeff Beck, Nile Rodgers, and the Brecker Brothers too! Diana's vocals aren't as over the top as during the disco years – and find a nice place to percolate within the warmer 80s grooves – mostly rhythms that have a nice sort of crossover potential, but not in a way that's as clunky or commercial as some of her contemporaries. Titles include "Missing You", "It's Your Move", "Swept Away", "Telephone", "All Of You", "Touch By Touch", "Nobody Makes Me Crazy", and "Rescue Me". CD 2 features 9 bonus tracks – different mixes of "Swept Away", "Touch By Touch", "Missing You", and "Telephone" – plus the 7" version of "Fight For It". CD

⇑ Top