All Categories



Aerophonic Edit search

Sort by
Close matches: 5
Close matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
BallisterSLAG ... CD
Aerophonic, 2017. New Copy ... $12.99
Not the kind of album you'd expect from a junk-like term of "slag" – as the trio here are fantastically sharp, and play with a sense of urgency that maybe makes the whole thing one of the boldest statements from any of the three musicians in years! Dave Rempis is brilliant on both alto and tenor – as powerful as before, but also maybe finding even more soul in his horn as the years go by, and setting a tone that has Fred Lonberg-Holm working his cello with equal range too! Drummer Paal Nilssen-Love is nicely balanced – sometimes working with just the right sort of subtle energy to allow Rempis to really take the lead, other times hitting that full-on mode that you might know from earlier records – and the album features three long tracks – "Fauchard", "Guisarme", and "Glaive". CD

Close matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Dave RempisLattice ... CD
Aerophonic, 2017. New Copy ... $12.99
The reed skills of Dave Rempis are fast approaching the stuff of legend – and while he's a hell of a collaborator, really great in many settings, he sounds maybe even more amazing here on his own – in a set of solo performances on alto, tenor, and baritone sax! The tracks were recorded over a few different live dates in early 2017, but they've got a really unified feel in Dave's maturing understanding of his horns – able to be completely bracing at one moment, then shift into subtle textures that respect the space of freedom by creating new tonal territory. The moods and moments can differ greatly, and create a strong sense of surprise throughout – on titles that include readings of "A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing" and "Serene" – plus the originals "Horse Court", "Linger Longer", "If You Get Lost In Santa Paula", and "Loose Snus". CD

Close matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Dave Rempis/Josh Abrams/Avreeayl Ra + Jim BakerPerihelion ... CD
Aerophonic, 2016. New Copy 2 CDs ... Out Of Stock
Two different sets from this sharp Chicago trio – both in a wide-open style that allows for plenty of organic sound shaping and improvisation! CD1 features "Enceladus" – a 43 minute live set by the trio, which begins with sublime bass notes from Josh Abrams, whose embrace of his instrument – both spiritually and literally – can be felt in the way that he presents the music, with these soulful, human elements that seem to bring out one of the most personal performances we've ever heard from Dave Rempis on alto and tenor! Ra's drums are great, too – and he also plays a bit of wooden flute. CD2 features the addition of Jim Baker's keyboards and electronics – which create a bit more sonic intensity, and a bolder performance overall from the group – on the titles "Cassini Division" and "Pan & Daphnis". CD

Close matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Rempis Percussion QuartetCochonnerie ... CD
Aerophonic, 2017. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
The quartet's not all percussion – just drummers Tim Daisy and Frank Rosaly, but both turning out work on the kit that could rival an army of percussionists – working alongside sublime bass plotting from Ingebrigt Haker Flaten, and a range of sharp-edged sounds from leader Dave Rempis – who blows alto, tenor, and baritone equally well! The album's far more than the usual improv outing – possibly because the drums do hold onto a core of the sound – while still allowing Rempis those fantastically-shaped lines that we've come to admire more and more over the years, played with increasing sonic sensitivity that almost puts him in the territory of Ken Vandermark and Mats Gustafsson. Flaten's always a welcome talent – and his contributions here are more subtle than the drums, but crucial to the soul of the record – which contains three long tracks, titled "Straggler", "Green & Black", and "Enzymes". CD

Close matches5
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Wheelhouse (Rempis/Adasiewicz/McBride)Boss Of The Plains ... CD
Aerophonic, 2013. Used ... Out Of Stock
There's a very cool trio in the wheelhouse for this sweet little set – a combo that features alto and baritone sax from Dave Rempis, bass from Nate McBride, and vibes from the always-incredible Jason Adasiewicz! The players come together with a sound that's completely sublime – almost even more airy and hanging in space than any other effort – partly because of the lack of drums, partly because of the group's clear fascination with sound textures on the record – an approach that has the tones of the various players resonating strongly together, often with melodic undercurrents that really bring a sense of soul to their relatively free musicianship! A tremendous effort from the Chicago scene – with titles that include "Song Sex", "Song Heaven", "Song Fife", "Song Juan", "Song For Teens", and "Song Hate". CD
(Appears to be signed by one of the artists.)

⇑ Top