Sonic Healing Ministries -- Neo Soul (LPs, CDs, Vinyl Record Albums) -- Dusty Groove is Chicago's Online Record Store
Skip navigation
Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

Neo Soul

XThe best of the contemporary soul underground -- Eric Roberson, Ed Motta, D'Angelo, Incognito, Jose James, Monday Michiru, and many more!



Sonic Healing Ministries Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Close matches: 2
Close matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
David Boykin & SebauCalculations/Love In The Afternoon ... CD
Sonic Healing Ministries, 2023. New Copy ... $6.99 8.99
A record that continues that journey past jazz that reedman David Boykin has given us on a few recent releases – an EP that features two surprisingly soulful cuts, yet which still have some great tenor solos as well! Manu Wise delivers some lyrics on "Calculations" – a cut that has this really wonderful slow-stepping, soulful glow –summed up wonderfully by David's tenor solo at the end! "Love In The Afternoon" is even cooler – a stepping funky number with vocals from a trio of singers and a bit of turntable work – really wonderful, and with a quality that's as if Strata East released a soul single back in the day! (Jazz, Neo Soul) CD
(CDR release – direct from the artist!)

Close matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ David Boykin (Dr Belsidus) & OthersDr Belsidus Presents The Quarantine Collaboration – Vol 1 ... CD
Sonic Healing Ministries, 2021. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
David Boykin works here in a very different guise than his usual role as a saxophonist – stepping out here with a range of different singers, in a set of tracks that showcase a whole new side of his talents! The music is a mix of modern jazz vocals and contemporary soul modes – different depending on the singers, who shift from cut to cut – at a level that sometimes echoes June Tyson or Abbey Lincoln, other times reflects more contemporary work from the underground! As always with Boykin's CDs, the notes are a bit spare, so it's hard to tell who did what in terms of the music – but we can say that the set features vocals from Abeeku, Consuela Ivy-Vaughn, Dark Mery, Liz Mputu, and Ugochi – on titles that include "Listen Up", "She Was Screaming", "What The Afrofuture Say", "Slow Sweet Burn", "Conspiracy", and "Of My Voice". (Jazz, Neo Soul) CD
! Didn't find what you're looking for? You can set a product alert and we'll notify you of new matches.

⇑ Top