Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

Deep Funk — LPs

XHeavy funk from the contemporary scene -- from labels like Daptone, Truth & Soul, Now Again, Schema, Freestyle, and Legere!



Import Edit search

Sort by
Partial matches: 2
Partial matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ BrainstoryBuck (clear with yellow & purple splatter vinyl pressing) ... LP
Big Crown, 2019. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
A funky trio with a really unique sort of vibe – vocals that are somewhere in the sweet soul territory of the early 70s, set to spacious instrumentation that's got some nicely trippy touches! The core lineup features guitar, bass, and drums next to the harmonized vocals of Kevin and Tony Martin – but Leon "El" Michels produced the set, and also adds in a bit of keyboards – and the whole record really benefits from the open-ended sound he can bring to an affair of this nature! Things are never overdone, and these guys never try to sound too forcedly soulful – really finding the best qualities in their vocals, and reminding us that sometimes the right fit is the most important thing of all. Titles include "Beautyful Beauti", "Mnemophobia", "Sorry", "Reclaim", "Dead End", and "Breathe". LP, Vinyl record album
(On clear with translucent purple & yellow splatter vinyl pressing.)

Partial matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousCrown Jewels Vol 1 (gold colored vinyl – with download) ... LP
Big Crown, 2019. New Copy ... $18.99
A big collection of funky gems from the Big Crown label – an important imprint in the role of fresh funky styles in the global underground! Big Crown are part of a musical legacy that stretches back to Soul Fire and Desco – but the company also has an ear towards newer modes of funky sounds too – and mixes together some older funky favorites with newer talents, mostly issued initially in a long run of 7" singles. This set brings together a dozen of the labels' best, with titles that include "Pimp" by Bacao Rhythm & Steel Band, "Guilty" by Lady Wray, "Parachute" by Thee Lakesiders, "This Strange Effect" by The Shacks, "Once In A While" by Paul & The Tall Trees, "Tearz" by El Michel's Affair, "This Love" by Bobby Oroza, "Terrorize My Heart (disco dub)" by 79.5, "Never Be Another You" by Lee Fields & The Expressions, "Oh I Miss Her So" by Holy Hive, and "Dead End" by Brainstory. LP, Vinyl record album
(Limited edition gold vinyl – with download!)

⇑ Top