Skip navigation
Scripting is disabled or not working. requires JavaScript to function correctly.
Style sheets are disabled or not working. requires style sheets to function correctly.

All Categories



Durand Jones & The Indications Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Exact matches: 2
Exact matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Durand Jones & The IndicationsAmerican Love Call (with bonus download) ... LP
Colemine/Dead Oceans, 2018. New Copy ... $20.99 23.99
Man, these guys just keep on getting better – and this time around, Durand Jones & The Indications deliver a record that's way more than just another funk band with a lead singer! Instead, there's a depth and complexity to this set that takes us back to our favorite indie soul albums at the start of the 70s – particularly ultra-hip work from the Philly and New Jersey scenes, where sweet and funky soul modes could exist in equal space – and come up with results that are every bit as great! The core funky instrumentation from the group is still in place - but there's also larger arrangements with a bit of strings and vocals – really opening up the tunes, and somehow underscoring their more righteous currents in a way that smaller instrumentation would never do. Jones sounds better than ever – as if he's been waiting for a chance like this to really take off – and titles include "Morning In America", "Circles", "True Love", "Walk Away", "Long Way Home", "Sea Gets Hotter", "How Can I Be Sure", "Listen To Your Heart", and "Court Of Love". LP, Vinyl record album
(Includes download!)

Exact matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Durand Jones & The IndicationsPrivate Space ... LP
Dead Oceans, 2021. New Copy ... $20.99 21.98
Fantastic work from Durand Jones & The Indications – a group who've really come a long way in the past few years – in ways that push Durand's vocals to places we wouldn't have guessed on previous records! This set's way more than just a funk band with a soul singer upfront – as the whole thing's a fully-formed soul record through and through – with these larger arrangements that really add a lot, and open up all these righteous 70s currents mixed with a few contemporary flourishes that really give the album a very distinct sound! The songwriting is even better than before, too – and the group seems to have found a voice for themselves that's unlike any of their contemporaries. The record features guest work from Brandee Younger on harp and Joel Ross on vibes – and titles include "Love Will Work It Out", "Witchoo", "Reach Out", "Sexy Thang", "More Than Ever", "Private Space", "Sea Of Love", "I Can See", and "Ride Or Die". LP, Vinyl record album
Possible matches: 2
Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ VariousSoul Slabs Vol 2 (3LP set) ... LP
Colemine, 2010s. New Copy 3LP ... Out Of Stock
Fantastic funk from the Colemine label – a company who've given us plenty of great albums over the years, but who seem especially well-tuned to the funky 45! Along with Daptone, Big Crown, and a few others, Colemine is one of the labels who turn out top-shelf 7" singles again and again – most of which are in limited pressings, disappear fast, and are sometimes pretty expensive if you can find them! This set corrects that issue, and brings together 27 nuggets that originally appeared as funky 45s – all stacked together nicely as a massive LP set, with a nice price break from trying to track down the singles. Titles include "Gripsweats Them" by The Gripsweats, "Don't You Know" by Durand Jones & The Indications, "NUSAU" by Jungle Fire, "Supermoon" by Ikebe Shakedown, "What A Shame" by Jr Thomas & The Volcanos, "War Room" by Black Market Brass, "Aragon" by Sure Fire Soul Ensemble, "My God Has A Telephone" by Flying Stars Of Brooklyn, "He's On Time" by Harlem Gospel Travelers, "Happiness" by Wesley Bright & The Honeytones, "It Was Only A Dream" by Thee Sinseers, "America" by Soul Scratch, and "Sure Don't Miss You" by The Dip. LP, Vinyl record album
(Includes download!)

Possible matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ VariousSoul Slabs Vol 3 ... LP
Colemine, 2010s. New Copy 2LP ... Temporarily Out Of Stock
A massive selection of work from the contemporary underground scene – cuts that previously appeared as limited edition 7" singles on the excellent Colemine labels – one of our favorite sources for contemporary funk! The set's got as much vintage vibe as you'd guess from the label styles on the cover – and this limited vinyl version is beautifully pressed, with sound that may well even be more fantastic than the 45s. Titles include "Ice Breaker" by Bubaza, "Winston Theme" by Winston Brothers, "Slipshot" by Jungle Fire, "Rome" by Dojo Cuts, "Morning In America" by Durand Jones & The Indications, "Standing With You" by The Resonaires, "Nothing But His Love" by The Harlem Gospel Travelers, "Sommer" by The Ironsides, "No Laggin & Draggin" by Renaldo Domino, "Sunk In The Mist" by Jr Thomas & The Vocalos, "Step Down" by Sure Fire Soul Ensemble, "Over You" by Aaron Frazer, "Fo Sho" by Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio, "More Than A Memory" by Ben Pirani, and "One & Only" by Oliver James. LP, Vinyl record album
(Includes download!)

⇑ Top