Neo Soul — CDs

XThe best of the contemporary soul underground -- Eric Roberson, Ed Motta, D'Angelo, Incognito, Jose James, Monday Michiru, and many more!



Leo Edit search

Sort by
Partial matches: 2
Partial matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
OmarLove In Beats ... CD
Freestyle (UK), 2017. New Copy ... $12.99 13.98
Omar's been blowing our minds for years now – turning out some of the freshest soul music on the global scene – from his tremendous debut at the start of the 90s, to a range of crucially-overlooked albums that should have made the singer huge! The man's a hell of a singer, and a really great songwriter – easily a modern-day Stevie Wonder, right down to his skills on the keyboards and cosmic sense of soul! This album's got Omar sounding especially wonderful – working with a few key guests, like Robert Glasper, Leon Ware, Natasha Watts, and The Floacist – but reminding us again that it's the man at the core who makes all the music so great – as the guests appear only as key added elements, but the Omar sound is more than enough to make the record great. Titles include "Vicky's Tune", "Feeds My Mind", "Insatiable", "Gave My Heart", "Girl Talk", "I Want It To Be", "Hold Me Closer", "This Way That Way", "Destiny", and "Doobie Doobie Doo". CD

Partial matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousSoul Love 2016 – A Collection Of The Finest Modern Soul ... CD
Reel People (UK), 2016. New Copy ... $13.99
An excellent collection of underground soul – one that brings together tracks from both the British and American scene, including a number of titles that we've never seen on CD before! The set comes from the Reel People label, and has the same depth of sound as that group's wonderful music – styles that are certainly contemporary, but filled with a rich sense of soulful heritage – and an undeniable amount of positive energy! You'll recognize a few tracks here, but there's probably a number of others you don't already own, too – and titles include "Falling In Love With You" by Kim Burrell, "Smile" by Portia Monique, "Unconditional Love" by Greg Dean with Chantae Cann & Jarrod Lawson, "Talk To Me" by Jordan Rakei, "Because We Love It" by Louie Vega with Zara McFarlane, "Over The Sun" by Dilouya with Omar, "Make Believe" by Brandon Williams with Deborah Bond & Bamm Davis, "Optimistic" by Zepherin Saint with Ann Nesby, "Alone With You" by Kraak & Smaak with Cleopold, "All The Things You Are (Louie Vega rmx)" by Tony Momrelle, "Lifelines (Reel People rmx)" by Zo with Dornik, and "Slippin On Ya Pimpin" by Amp Fiddler with Dames Brown. CD

⇑ Top