Funky Compilations — All

XGreat compilations from labels like Soul Jazz, Ace, Numero, BBE, Vampi Soul, BGP, Luv N Haight, Harmless, Tramp, Jazzman, and others!



Peter Brown Edit search Phrase match

Sort by
Possible matches: 3
Possible matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousFTG Presents The Vaults Vol 1 (3CD set) ... CD
FTG, Late 70s/1980s. New Copy 3CD ... $13.99 14.98
A triple-header of greatness from the Funkytown Grooves label – a well-priced set that really shows off the label's commitment to classic funk and soul! The set brings together a blend of album tracks and rare mixes – some of the best titles from the FTG reissue series of the past few years, but working together here in a 3CD set that's overflowing with grooviness! The set features a total of 41 tracks in all – and titles include "Disco Nights (12" version)" by GQ, "I Can't Fight Your Love (7" version)" by The Modulations, "Stars In Your Eyes (special disco rmx)" by Herbie Hancock, "Hold Me Tighter In The Rain (7" version)" by Billy Griffin, "Heaven Sent (12" version)" by Stanley Clarke, "Juicy Fruit (voc)" by Mtume, "Firestarter" by Tease, "Giving Myself To You (ext east coast version)" by Glenn Jones, "Anything Worth Having (7" version)" by Johnny Kemp, "Love Is Just The Game (Jellybean rmx)" by Peter Brown, "I Just Got To Have You (single version)" by Kashif, "Dazz (Dazz disco mix)" by Brick, "Grand Theft (7" mix)" by Chocolate Milk, "You" by The McCrarys, "All In The Way You Get Down (rmx)" by Ray Parker Jr & Raydio, "Encore (ext version)" by Cheryl Lynn, "Reach Out (12" mix)" by George Duke, "Show Me The Way (ext version)" by Regina Belle, "Risin To The Top (7" mix)" by Keni Burke, and "Mainline" by Black Ivory. CD

Possible matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
VariousKeb Darge Digs For P&P – Killer Underground Deep Funk, Disco, Soul & Philly From New York's Legendary P&P Records ... CD
P&P/Suss'd (UK), 1970s. Used 2 CDs ... $22.99
The funkiest work we've ever heard from the mighty P&P family of labels – a set that's quite different than the usual disco, club, and soul we know from Patrick Adams and Peter Brown – served up in a host of rare funky 45s and a few key 12" singles! The sound here is deep, gritty, and grooving – an under-discovered treasure trove of work that features some tight small combo grooving on the funky 45 tracks – and some fuller ensemble funk on the 12" singles – all upbeat, soaring, and soulful – often produced with the kinds of tricky studio touches we've come to expect from Adams and Brown. CD 1 features mostly 45s, and CD 2 focuses a bit more on 12" singles – and although some of the tracks have been reissued before on vinyl, most are making their first appearance here on CD! 2CD set features 30 titles that include "Solid Funk" by Flame & The Sons Of Darkness, "I'm Gonna Fool You (voc)" by Ella Hamilton, "I Got It (parts 1 & 2)" by Soul Severes, "Mini Skirt" by Henry Brooks, "Who's Gonna" by Otis Turner & The Mighty Kingpins, "Long Time Ago" by Smokey Brooks, "Hitch Hike One More Time" by King David, "Hooker (parts 1 & 2)" by Peter Brown, "Black Ice" by Sons Of Darkness, "Determination" by Eddie Owen, "Take Me I'm Yours" by Mary Clarke, "I Want To Dance (edit)" by Little Scotty, "Spank Me" by Bobby Mann, "Stomp Your Feet & Dance (inst)" by Kim Taylor, "African Rock" by Dream Lovers, and "NY Applejack (inst)" by Scott Davis. CD
(Out of print.)

Possible matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ VariousLegacy Of R' N' B Party (3CD set – with bonus tracks) ... CD
Sony (Germany), 1990s. New Copy 3CD ... Out Of Stock
Funky soul from the 90s – music that's mainstream, but which also draws some nice touches from the underground too – especially the wave of hip hop production that was helping to bring some sharper edges to the grooves in more familiar soul and R&B! The set's a lot hipper than you might think from the Kandi-styled cover, or the "party" on the front – as the tunes are the sort that are really well-remembered from back in the day, and mostly not the stuff of crossover hits. 3CD set features 34 tracks in all – and titles include "Butta Love (you got the love rmx)" by Next with Naughty By Nature, "Come On Out" by Dede Lopez, "Unpretty (don't look any further rmx w/rap)" by TLC, "Head Over Heels" by Allure with Nas, "Keep It Real" by Jon B & Coko with Jay-Z, "Still In Love" by Nivea, "U Don't Have To Call" by Usher, "Weekend (radio mix)" by Kenny Lattimore, "I See You" by Best Man, "All Eyez On Me (urban mix)" by Monica, "Too Close (Phatboy club mix)" by Next, "Thank God It's Friday" by R Kelly, "1 Thing" by Amerie, "Joyride" by Men Of Vizion with Tasha Scott, "Put Me Down" by Donell Jones, "Let's Get Married (ReMarquable rmx)" by Jagged Edge with Run, "Daydreamin Part 2 (ext version)" by Tatyana Ali with Lord Tariq & Peter Gunz, "Tell Me (6 Karat hip hop mix)" by Groove Theory with Brand Nubian, "After Party" by Koffee Brown, and "No More (Cuban Linx 2000 rmx)" by Ruff Endz feat Ghostface Killah & Raekwon. CD

⇑ Top