New Grooves — LPs

Contemporary cuts in a variety of styles -- broken beat, downtempo, house, electronica, club jazz, electro, nu jazz, and more!


Oz Edit search

Sort by
Partial matches: 5
Partial matches1
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Bugge WesseltoftBugge & Friends ... LP
Jazzland (Norway), 2015. New Copy 2LP ... $19.99
Bugge Wessltoft returns to a style that made us first fall in love with him many years back – a hip blend of jazzy instrumentation and more cosmic 21st Century touches – all wrapped up in that sweet style that first put Norway's Jazzland label on the map! Bugge's at the helm on Fender Rhodes and piano – but he uses the instruments with a much more focused, rhythmic style than some of his more recent mellower albums – working alongside a very hip assemblage of friends who include Erik Truffaz on trumpet, Joe Claussell on rhythms, and Ilhan Erashin on tenor! Like Wesseltoft, Truffaz and Claussell were both artists that really opened our ears over a dozen years ago – and working together here, the spring back to life with all the soul of the past. Make no mistake – we really love Bugge's recent albums – but it's also great to hear him and the other musicians working together like this too. There's a bit of vocals on the set – thanks to guest appearances from Beady Bell and Torun Eriksen – but most of the record is instrumental, and titles include "Play It", "Do It", "Faz It", "Breed It", "Make It", and "Clauss It". (Jazz, New Grooves) LP, Vinyl record album

Partial matches2
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
Various90s House & Garage – Compiled By Joey Negro – Part 2 ... LP
Z Records (UK), 1990s. New Copy 2LP Gatefold ... $19.99
The 90s was a huge decade for dance music, but it was also a time in which some of the best work often got overlooked next to the hits – especially the kind of cool underground tracks compiled here! Back in the day, Joey Negro was making lots of great music like this – so he's a perfect choice to put together a collection of this nature – which really focuses on the deepest, most soulful sounds of the 90s house scene – and not the more commercial work that was cluttering up the charts! Lots of the tracks here carry that underground vibe that had sprung up in New Jersey and New York after the initial wave of house from Chicago – almost a return to some of the more deeply soulful modes of the disco generation after the colder beats from the Midwest, but still with rhythms that have all the sharp focus of house at its best. Titles include "Joy (Kerri's kaoz gone insane)" by Janet Rushmore, "Gotta Work (final take)" by Robert Owens, "Got The Bug" by Bougie Soliterre, "Ncameu (Ron Trent main mix)" by USG, "The Murder Track" by Mike Delgado, "Mighty Power Of Love (Mood II Swing vox mix)" by Leee John, and "That Special Melody (Q mix)" by Station Q. (Funky Compilations, New Grooves) LP, Vinyl record album
Also available 90s House & Garage – Compiled By Joey Negro – Part 1 ... LP 19.99

Partial matches3
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Mr ChopIlluminate ... LP
Now Again, 2013. Used 2LP ... Out Of Stock
A brilliant record from future groove beacon Mr Chop! Now billed simply as Chop, having chopped off the honorific title, the man otherwise known as Coz Littler delivers his tightest and most compelling work to date! His past few releases recast classic synth funk, Krautrock and spacey soundtrack grooves and electronic experimentalist influences into fresh soundscapes that are distinctly his own – which was plenty exhilarating, but a lot to take in all at the same time. The biggest difference on Illuminate is that he's got it all so finely-honed. Thick waves of Moog, modular atmospherics, vocoder and otherwise effected vocals – perfectly paired with live bass, guitar and positively killer drums, courtesy of frequent collaborator Malcolm Catto and others. Cosmic funk rock of the finest caliber! Includes "Building Blocks", "Illuminate All Voltages", "Picture Box", "Airhead", "Re-Program The man/Illuminist Garden", "Sleeper", "Feedback", "Rendevous", "Bow Down To The Mutant", "Arcane Future", "You Want More Life", "The Electronic Brain" and more. (Deep Funk, New Grooves) LP, Vinyl record album
(Cover has a bumped corner.)

Partial matches4
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ Mr ChopSwitched On (2 x 10" vinyl set) ... LP
Five Day Weekend, 2011. Used 2 x 10" Gatefold ... Out Of Stock
Switched On funk from Mr Chop! Here's an homage to the innovative Moog-based LPs of the late 60s and early 70s – though the the great UK analog studio wiz Mr Chop is also doing it hard and heavy – it's not a light, airy and bubbly keyboard groove experience – this is spacey, fuzzy avant funk at its modern finest! Produced and engineered by Mr Chop and the players are like-minded geniuses – Malcolm Catto on drums, Coz Litter on bass, guitar, vocoder and more, Glyn Williams on clavinet, Moog, Hammond and Rhodes, Johnny Pop on Hammond organ and Mark Brunley on modular synth. The set includes some covers of funk and avant rock like you've never heard them before, and it's great all the way. Titles include "Hung-Up", "Root Down (And Get It)", "Breakthrough", "Givin Up Food For Funk", "Blow Your Head", "Deep Gully", "Greedy G", "Happy Birthday", "Vitamin C" and "Cortex". (Deep Funk, New Grooves) LP, Vinyl record album

Partial matches5
CD, LP, Vinyl record album cover art
✨✧ DebruitDebruit & Istanbul (with bonus download) ... LP
Ici (Netherlands), 2016. New Copy ... Out Of Stock
Cool contemporary electronics – recorded in Istanbul, and given a very exotic spin overall -thanks to help from a range of guests who include Okay Temiz and Muztafa Ozkent! The music here is even more compelling than the sounds on Debruit's previous record for the Soundway label – maybe more 70s analogue overall, with lots of spare moogy lines – which are then peppered with cool Turkish musical elements to give the whole thing an Arabesk 70s sort of vibe! Titles include "Above The Bosporus", "Cevreler", "Der Saadet", "Duman", "The Bridge's Strings", "Dalga", and "Uc Iki Bir". (Global Grooves, New Grooves) LP, Vinyl record album
(Includes download.)

⇑ Top